Chapel-en-le-Frith High School
Chapel-en-le-Frith High School Students

Thank you for taking an interest in our school; I hope that our website provides a flavour of the work that we do.

We are a caring, friendly and inclusive school with a fast developing reputation for academic excellence. Our success is founded on a wonderful staff team, a clear focus on learning and a desire to develop high aspirations in our students. We are lucky to work in modern accommodation on an attractive site that provides a superb environment for learning.

Our students are treated as individuals, supported by a strong pastoral system and given access to a wide range of extra-curricular activities. We want our students to leave school with excellent qualifications, high standards of literacy and ambitious plans for the future; above all we want them to have enjoyed school, grown in confidence and to have developed a love of learning.

We aim to match the achievements of the best schools in the country and we are determined to do so without losing the friendly, supportive and inclusive ethos that makes this school so special.

The exam results our students receive demonstrate the impact of our work, for the last four years our results have been well above national and local averages on all key indicators, with 71% of our students in summer 2015 achieving at least 5 A* to C grades including English and maths. More details of our 2015 results are available here. You may also want to use the Ofsted School Data Dashboard to look at the performance of our school or to compare it with other schools.

Admissions to our school are handled by Derbyshire County Council, you can get more details here.

We are always delighted to welcome visitors, please contact us if you would like to arrange a visit or would like further information about any aspect of our work.

Simon Grieves

Open Days and Open Evening 2015

It’s that time of year again when decisions on secondary school applications have to be made. To help you make this important decision we offer you two different opportunities to see our school.

We’ll be running morning (9.30am) and afternoon (1.30pm) tours of the school on our Open Days on Tuesday 22nd and Wednesday 23rd September 2015, no appointment is needed for these tours which will give you a good opportunity to see the school at work. Each tour ends with an informal question and answer session with the headteacher over tea or coffee.

Our Open Evening this year is on Tuesday 22nd September 2015 starting at 7pm. This is a more formal opportunity to hear a short talk from the headteacher (at 7.00pm or 8.15pm) and to meet school staff and explore the work of the school. Your son or daughter is of course welcome to join you at Open Evening or on an Open Day. Please allow time to find parking – it can get rather busy!

Applications must be made, to Derbyshire County Council, by the 31st October 2015. You can complete the application process here.

Summer 2015 GCSE Results

Students receive GCSE results

We would like to congratulate our students on another stunning set of GCSE results.  Like others across the country they have endured a nervous wait but when the envelopes were opened this week they revealed some wonderful individual performances adding up to the school's best ever results with 71% of the school’s students achieving the government’s headline measure of 5 A* to C grades including English and Maths.  These results have continued our strong trend of improvement over recent years and are likely to be well above national averages.

The results reflect the hard work of our students and staff and the excellent support from student’s parents.  We are delighted that students of all abilities have made superb progress, some far exceeding expectations, meaning that they can now move on to further education or take up their apprenticeships secure in the knowledge that they have done their best and that the foundations have been laid for future success.  Strong results for our top students at A* and A grades are especially pleasing on a day when the national news has highlighted the importance of GCSE results to future university entry.

Well done to you all!

More News and Events »

Show My Homework

Students will shortly be receiving letters that detail logons for themselves and parents for ShowMyHomework.

To log on, they should click the link, and enter the PIN supplied in their letter.

Students are asked to provide mobile numbers on the login screen but they do not need to do so;  it would only be used to reset passwords and this can be done by email. We recommend that they use their SCHOOL email address.

Please contact if you have any queries.


See the latest newsletter for more details of events.

Date Event
Friday 24 July Break up for summer holidays: 2.00 pm finish
Monday 7 September INSET day
Tuesday 8 September INSET day
Wednesday 9 September School open for Autumn Term: 8.40 am
Thursday 10 September School photographs
Tuesday 22 September Open Day tours at 9.30am & 1.30pm and Open Evening 7.00-9.00pm
Wednesday 23 September Open Day tours at 9.30am & 1.30pm
Thursday 24 September Year 10 Prizegiving evening
Friday 2 October Learning for Life Day—whole school
Wednesday 7 October Year 10 Grade Raiser Day
Thursday 8 October Post 16 Evening for Year 11 students
Wednesday 14 to Friday 16 October Year 7 Castleton field trips
Thursday 22 October Year 8 Science, Technology & Engineering day (STEM)
Friday 23 October Break up for half term - 3.05 pm

Term Dates 2015-16

Autumn Term 1

Wednesday 9th September to Friday 23rd October 2015

Autumn Term 2

Monday 2nd November to Friday 18th December 2015

Inset Day Friday 27th November 2015

Spring Term 1

Tuesday 5th January to Friday 12th February 2016

Spring Term 2

Monday 22nd February to Thursday 24th March 2016

Summer Term 1

Tuesday 12th April to Friday 27th May 2016

Summer Term 2

Monday 6th June to Tuesday 26th July 2016

Inset Days for staff

Monday 7 September 2015
Tuesday 8 September 2015
Friday 27 November 2015
Monday 4 January 2016
Monday 11 April 2016

School Day Timings 2015-16

Time Period
8.40 Registration
8.55 Period 1
9.55 Period 2
10.55 Break
11.15 Period 3
12.15 Lunch
1.05 Period 4
2.05 Period 5
3.05 End of school day

Top of page | Copyright © 2006-2015 Chapel-en-le-Frith High School